Packaging

Milk alternatives:
a trend of the times

Plant-based milk drinks are continuously growing in significance, acceptance and variety. For the first half of 2019, GfK registered strong volume growth by 26.5% in the German market. The segment gained 21.1% in value.
Once a niche product for vegans and allergic consumers, it has now become a mainstream product with a coverage of roughly 25% of German households as of today.

Though only a small number of Germans live consistently vegan, a growing number of consumers identify as flexitarian: they foster a more conscious eating culture, search for new taste alternatives to traditional milk and strive for a healthier and more sustainable lifestyle. Learn more about product and packaging concepts with attractive margins and new chances for brand profiling and approaching of future generations.


The Power from Plants

While the number of innovations in white and flavoured milk is declining, new launches in the plant-based milk drinks segment have been growing for years.


In the Beginning there was solely soy

Only five years ago, soy was at the top of the list of milk alternatives and was basically all there was. Today, the market for milk alternatives is much more diverse: products made from soy are losing market shares to alternatives made from almond and rice. Currently, oat drinks are on the rise. Mixed drinks from cow’s milk and plant-based drinks are increasing on European supermarket shelves.


“The lifestyle of younger consumers, which is moving away from animal ingredients, will heavily influence the growth of the plant drinks category in Europe,” says Julia Buech from the British market research company Mintel. Especially Millennials seem to feel like they are doing something good: for themselves and the environment. “In the US and UK, plant drinks are mainstream.”

Julia Buech
Global Food & Drink Analyst
MINTEL GROUP LTD


GROWING NUMBER OF SKUs


Did you know?

Soy milk has been produced in China since at least the 14th century, mainly as a primary product for tofu.
The first historical mention of almond milk can be found in a cooking book from Bagdad from the year 1226.
Up until 1990, milk alternatives, for example made from soy or grains, were banned in Germany.
In 2008, soy milk was the only alternative to cow’s milk.

Strong in Brands


Successfully launched in Pure-Pak®


Links / Downloads

Packaging

Milchalter­nativen im Trend der Zeit

Pflanzlich basierte Milchgetränke gewinnen kontinuierlich an Bedeutung, Akzeptanz und Vielfalt. Für das 1. Halbjahr 2019 weist die GfK im deutschen Markt einen Volumenzuwachs von 26,5% aus. In Wert konnte das Segment um 21,1% zulegen.
Aus dem einstigen Nischenprodukt für Veganer und Allergiker ist ein Mainstream Artikel geworden mit einer Reichweite von heute rund 25% innerhalb der deutschen Haushalte.

Auch wenn nur ein geringer Teil der Deutschen konsequent vegan lebt, so identifiziert sich eine wachsende Zahl an Verbrauchern als flexitarisch oder lessitarisch: Sie pflegen eine bewusstere Esskultur, suchen nach Geschmacksalternativen zur traditionellen Milch und streben nach einem gesunderem und umweltverträglicherem Lebensstil. Erfahren Sie mehr zu Produkt- und Packungskonzepten mit attraktiven Margen und neuen Chancen zur Markenprofilierung und Ansprache zukünftiger Generationen.


Die Macht der Pflanzen

Während die Anzahl an Innovationen in weißer Milch und Milchmischgetränken abnimmt, steigen die Neueinführungen im Segment pflanzlicher Milchgetränke seit Jahren.


Am Anfang war Soja

Noch vor fünf Jahren stand Soja ganz oben auf der Liste der Milchalternativen und war damit noch relativ allein auf weiter Flur. Heute ist der Markt deutlich diversifizierter: Produkte aus Soja verlieren Marktanteile an Alternativen aus Mandeln und Reis. Aktuell sind vor allem Haferdrinks auf dem Vormarsch. Auch Mischgetränke aus Kuhmilch und Pflanzendrinks sieht man inzwischen immer häufiger in den europäischen Regalen.


"Der Lebensstil jüngerer Konsumenten, der sich weg von tierischen Inhaltsstoffen bewegt, wird die Kategorie Pflanzendrinks in Europa noch stark anwachsen lassen“, sagt Julia Buech vom britischen Marktforschungs­unternehmen Mintel. Gerade Millenials hätten bei den Produkten das Gefühl, sich selbst und der Umwelt etwas Gutes zu tun. „In den USA und UK sind Pflanzendrinks mainstream."

Julia Buech
Global Food & Drink Analyst
MINTEL GROUP LTD


STEIGENDE ANZAHL DER SKUs


Schon gewusst?

In China wird Sojamilch spätestens seit dem 14. Jahrhundert hergestellt, vor allem als Vorprodukt für Tofu.
Die erste schriftliche Erwähnung von Mandelmilch findet sich in einem Kochbuch aus Bagdad aus dem Jahr 1226.
Noch bis 1990 waren Milchalternativen, beispielsweise aus Soja oder Getreide, in Deutschland verboten.
2008 stellte Sojamilch die einzige Alternative zur Kuhmilch dar.

Stark in der Marke


Bereits erfolgreich in Pure-Pak®


Links / Downloads