Packaging

Leading the way in sustainability

The 2018 Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) on behalf of the FKN (Fachverband Kartonverpackungen für flüssige Nahrungsmittel e.V.) comparing beverage cartons in Germany with disposable PET and returnable glass bottles in the segments juice/nectars, UHT and fresh milk confirms the results of previous LCAs from the Federal Environmental Agency (UBA) in 1995 and 2000/2002 stating the favourable positioning of beverage cartons.
The final report of the study, which has been created in accordance with the new methodological requirements of the UBA and approved by the latter, has been reviewed and updated in 2020.


Object of investigation and result

Clear advantage in terms of climate protection

In the category “climate change”, beverage cartons are superior to all other packaging types. According to the valuation method of the Federal Environmental Agency, CO2 emissions have the highest environmental priority.

The results across all impact categories

Who is the FKN?

Logo FKN

The association, founded in 1981 and based in Berlin, represents the common interests of the beverage carton producers: its members are SIG Combibloc, Tetra Pak and Elopak. They constitute about 95% of beverage cartons distributed in Germany.

The FKN has two subsidiaries:

ReCarton GmbH has been handling the recycling of used beverage cartons from the Dual System since the early 1990s.

Palurec GmbH is a newly formed subsidiary which will soon recycle the residual materials, the polyethylene-aluminium-reject, coming from the paper mills.

What exactly was examined?

The Life Cycle Assessment analyses all environmental aspects and impacts related to a product. The environmental impacts of the complete product life cycle are taken into account (“from cradle to grave”).

It contains all environmental burdens during

  • Production
  • Utilisation phase
  • Disposal

as well as all previous and subsequent processes, such as the production of raw materials, consumables and supplies.

Minimum Standard – Why?

Umwelt Bundesamt Logo

Life Cycle Assessment is living science and ever evolving. Yet, the studies were often subject to controversial public debates, which mainly addressed the issues of packaging weights, recycling rates and recirculation rates of reusable packaging as well as methodical aspects such as system allocation or the question of impact assessment.

After three years of research, the Federal Environmental Agency published extended requirements for the preparation of life cycle assessments (UBA text 19/2016). It contains mandatory rules of procedure, which standardise the quality of the studies, bring their results to a comparable level and enable the development of verifiable assessments.

Beverage carton producers are first in this sector to meet these new requirements. Due to the pilot character of the study, the UBA was involved in the process from the beginning on.

What about recycling?

Recycling alone does not make for ecologically advantageous packaging; rather, it is primarily the high bio-based content of beverage cartons that contributes to the positive life cycle assessment.

Despite the high recycling rates (currently 77.7%), the influence of recycling on the overall ecological result for beverage cartons is relatively low.

Links / Downloads

Packaging

Zukunftsweisend in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit

Der aktuelle ökobilanzielle Vergleich von Getränkeverbundkartons mit PET-Einweg- und Glas-Mehrwegflaschen in den Getränkesegmenten Saft/ Nektar, H-Milch und Frischmilch im Auftrag des FKN (Fachverband Kartonverpackungen für flüssige Nahrungsmittel e.V.) bestätigt die bereits aus den Ergebnissen der UBA Ökobilanzen aus den Jahren 1995 und 2000/2002 bekannten Ergebnisse zur ökobilanziell günstigen Positionierung der Getränkekartons. Neu ist vor allem der Vergleich mit den PET Einwegflaschen in allen Marktsegmenten und die konsequente Umsetzung der neuen methodischen Anforderungen des deutschen Umweltbundesamtes.


Klarer Vorteil beim Klimaschutz

In der Kategorie „Klimawandel“ ist der Getränkekarton allen anderen Verpackungen deutlich überlegen. Nach der Bewertungsmethode des Umweltbundesamtes haben CO2-Emissionen die höchste ökologische Priorität

Die Ergebnisse über alle Wirkungskategorien


Wer ist der FKN?

Logo FKN

Der 1981 gegründete Verband mit Sitz in Berlin vertritt die gemeinsamen Interessen der Hersteller von Getränkekartons: Ihm gehören die Unternehmen SIG Combibloc, Tetra Pak und Elopak an. Sie vereinen ca. 95% der in Deutschland vertriebenen Getränkekartons.

Der FKN hat zwei Tochtergesellschaften:

ReCarton GmbH kümmert sich seit Anfang der 90er Jahre um die Organisation des Recyclings gebrauchter Getränkekartons aus den Dualen Systemen.

PaluRec GmbH, ein neu gegründetes Tochterunternehmen verwertet in Kürze die Kunststoff-Aluminium- Reststoffe, die nach Abtrennung der Papierfasern anfallen.

Was genau wurde untersucht?

Mit der Ökobilanz / Lebenszyklusanalyse (Life Cycle Assessment) werden alle mit einem Produkt verbundenen Umweltaspekte und Umweltauswirkungen analysiert. Betrachtet werden die Umweltauswirkungen im Verlauf des Lebensweges eines Produktes („from cradle to grave“ = „von der Wiege bis zur Bahre“)

Sie umfasst sämtliche Umweltlasten während

  • Produktion
  • Nutzungsphase
  • Entsorgung

sowie alle vor- und nachgeschalteten Prozesse, wie z.B. die Herstellung der Roh-, Hilfs- und Betriebsstoffe.

Mindeststandard - Warum?

Umwelt Bundesamt Logo

Ökobilanzierung ist eine lebendige Wissenschaft und entwickelt sich immer weiter fort. Doch oft waren Studien auch Gegenstand von kontrovers geführten öffentlichen Diskussionen, in denen vor allem die Fragen der Verpackungsgewichte, der Recyclingraten und der Umlaufzahlen der Mehrwegpackmittel sowie methodischer Aspekte wie die Systemallokation oder Fragen der Wirkungsabschätzung thematisiert wurden.

Nach dreijähriger Forschungsarbeit hat das Umweltbundesamt erweiterte Anforderungen zur Erstellung von Ökobilanzen veröffentlicht (UBA Texte 19/2016). Hier sind verbindliche Verfahrensregeln festgelegt, die die Qualität der Studien vereinheitlicht, deren Ergebnisse auf ein vergleichbares Niveau bringen und es ermöglichen, überprüfbare Bilanzen zu erarbeiten.

Diesen Anforderungen kommen die Getränkekartonhersteller als erste Branche nach. Aufgrund des Pilotcharakters der Studie war das UBA von Beginn an prozessbegleitend eingebunden.

Wie steht's ums Recycling?

Recycling alleine macht keine ökologisch vorteilhafte Verpackung; vielmehr trägt vor allem der hohe biobasierte Anteil der Getränkekartons zur positiven Ökobilanzbewertung bei.

Trotz der hohen Recyclingquoten (aktuell 77,7%), ist der Einfluss des Recyclings auf das gesamtökologische Ergebnis beim Getränkekarton relativ gering.

Links / Downloads