Packaging

Protecting nature and the environment

The way our Pure-Pak® cartons are sourced and produced offers environmental advantages that other packaging types cannot match. Pure-Pak® is already superior to PET and HDPE and with our ambition to offer our full packaging portfolio from 100% renewable resources we will further reduce the ecological footprint.

Protection of nature and biodiversity

  • Forests are complex ecosystems and the most important influencing factor of the global climate along with the oceans.
  • Not only us human beings need and appreciate the forest as a recreational space, raw material supplier, air conditioning system and – especially in the mountains – as life insurance against avalanches, mudflows and flooding. For countless species of animals, plants and fungi, the forest is the habitat that offers them food, shelter and protection.
  • Our forests provide habitats and refuge for up to 14,000 animal species and 6,000 plant species. It is important to us to preserve these essential habitats.

Environmentally friendly by nature

  • Most of our packaging is already made of wood, a renewable raw material.
  • The origin of our main raw material plays a major role for us. Of course, we must ensure that these raw materials are sourced sustainably and that they are also available for future generations in sufficient quantities.
  • Sustainable forest management ensures that more trees are planted than are cut down. At least three new seedlings are planted for every tree harvested.

Forest knowledge

Sustainable forestry
FSC® seal for good forests and good wood

  • The manufacture of our products is subject to a traceability system along the wood supply chain, which is audited by an independent party according to FSC® certification schemes. Our raw material is sourced from FSC®-certified forests and other controlled sources in Northern Europe.
  • What’s behind the FSC® seal?

    The Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®) has defined criteria and principles for responsible forest management. According to these, it awards a seal of quality for managed forests and products. The Forest Stewardship Council is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization that was founded in 1993 as a result of the environmental summit in Rio de Janeiro. Today the FSC® is active in over 80 countries with national working groups, the headquarters are in Bonn.
    Sustainable and conscientious use of wood, as guaranteed by FSC® certification, can safeguard the forest in its existence by giving it economic value. Responsible forest management according to the principles of the FSC® promotes the preservation of ecological diversity, sustainable development and the improvement of social standards.

    We make sure that more trees are planted than are cut down.

Links / Downloads

Packaging

Zum Schutz von Umwelt und Natur

Die Art und Weise, wie unsere Pure-Pak® Kartons beschafft und hergestellt werden, bietet ökologische Vorteile, die andere Verpackungstypen nicht bieten können. Schon jetzt ist Pure-Pak® PET und HDPE weit überlegen und mit unserer Ambition, unser gesamtes Verpackungsportfolio aus 100% erneuerbaren Ressourcen anzubieten, werden wir den ökologischen Fußabdruck weiter reduzieren.

Schutz von Natur und Biodiversität

  • Wälder sind komplexe Ökosysteme und neben den Ozeanen wichtigste Einflussgröße des globalen Klimas. Halten wir sie intakt, so liefern sie nicht nur Nahrung und Rohstoffe, sondern regulieren auch das Klima.
  • Nicht nur wir Menschen brauchen und schätzen den Wald als Erholungsraum, Rohstofflieferant, "Klimaanlage" und – vor allem im Gebirge – als "Lebensversicherung" gegen Lawinen, Muren und Hochwasser. Für zahllose Tier-, Pflanzen- und Pilzarten ist der Wald der Lebensraum, der ihnen Nahrung, Wohnung und Schutz bietet.
  • Unsere Wälder sind Lebens- und Rückzugsraum für bis zu 14.000 Tier- und 6.000 Pflanzenarten. Es liegt uns am Herzen diese wichtigen Habitate zu erhalten.

Von Natur aus umweltschonend

  • Der Großteil unserer Verpackungen besteht bereits aus Holz, einem nachwachsenden Rohstoff.
  • Die Herkunft unseres Hauptrohstoffs spielt für uns eine große Rolle. Natürlich müssen wir sicherstellen, dass diese Rohstoffe nachhaltig bezogen werden und auch zukünftigen Generationen in ausreichender Menge zur Verfügung stehen.
  • Durch nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft wird sichergestellt, dass mehr aufgeforstet als abgeholzt wird. Für jeden gefällten Baum werden mindestens drei neue Setzlinge gepflanzt.

Waldwissen

Nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft
FSC®-Siegel für Guten Wald und Gutes Holz

  • Die Erzeugung unserer Produkte unterliegt einem System der Rückverfolgbarkeit entlang der Holzlieferkette, das gemäß der FSC®–Zertifizierungsschemata von unabhängiger Stelle geprüft wird. Unser Rohmaterial stammt aus FSC®-zertifizierten Wäldern und anderen kontrollierten Quellen in Nordeuropa.
  • Was steckt hinter dem FSC® Siegel?

    Der Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®) hat Kriterien und Prinzipien für eine verantwortungsvolle Forstwirtschaft definiert. Nach diesen vergibt er für bewirtschaftete Wälder und Produkte ein Gütesiegel. Der Forest Stewardship Council ist eine unabhängige, gemeinnützige Nicht-Regierungsorganisation, die 1993 als ein Ergebnis des Umweltgipfels in Rio de Janeiro gegründet wurde. Heute ist der FSC® in über 80 Ländern mit nationalen Arbeitsgruppen aktiv, die internationale Zentrale sitzt in Bonn.
    Nachhaltige und gewissenhafte Nutzung von Holz, wie sie durch eine FSC®-Zertifizierung gewährleistet wird, kann den Wald in seiner Existenz sichern, indem sie ihm einen wirtschaftlichen Wert gibt. Verantwortungsvolle Waldbewirtschaftung nach den Standards des FSC® fördert den Erhalt der ökologischen Vielfalt, nachhaltige Entwicklung und Verbesserung sozialer Standards.

    Wir stellen sicher, dass jedes Jahr mehr Holz nachwächst als geerntet wird.

Links / Downloads