Sustainability

Building the road to 2030

2020 will be remembered as a very different year. With different challenges and different objectives. But to Elopak, our focus on sustainability remains and has been even further strengthened and embodied throughout the company.

Sustainability lies at the very core of our company, also reflected in the products we are offering, which continuously prove to be the most environmentally friendly packages on the market. Our sustainability report 2020 gives an update on our progress and goals regarding people, planet and profit.


Sustainability:

The way we work:

As a global corporation, Elopak is committed to work systematically with all aspects of sustainability, from the well-being of our employees, initiatives to mitigate climate change, responsible sourcing of raw materials, to responsible business conduct, upholding the highest ethical standards in all our business operations.

Being sustainable means finding the balance between what is good for the people, the planet and the profit.

Our sustainability targets:

  • Our sustainability targets remain the same as last year, safeguarding our long-term commitments to key global challenges such as climate change, scarce natural resources, diversity, safety and responsibility in supply chains.

1

Elopak offers a top-quartile motivating workplace by 2025

2

85% of employees have individual targets and documented competence development plans

3

Target the same distribution in gender diversity across all hierarchical levels

“2020 marks the beginning of the climate decade. A decade that is key in terms of turning the tide on global temperature increase. This is the time to move from doing less harm to doing more good. Elopak aims to go Net Zero as a natural continuation of our carbon neutral approach. It’s the natural thing to do.”

Marianne Groven, Director Sustainability

Renewability

  • By ensuring renewability throughout our operations we can contribute to a more balanced and sustainable future.
  • Renewable raw materials naturally grow back and hence ensure resource availability for future generations.
  • In addition, these materials lead to significantly lower greenhouse gas emissions compared to fossil or other finite resources.

Click here to read the full chapter

Naturally renewable – maintaining living and viable forests

Since Elopak secured certification in 2010, the annual sales of FSC-certified cartons have steadily increased. In 2020, 100% of Elopak’s sales volume came from verified and controlled sources, of which 54% was FSC-certified (74% of the sales volume in Europe).

FSC-certified cartons

Fossil-free – with certified renewable polymers

Elopak strives to reduce the plastic content of cartons. And, our customers can already go ‘fossil-free’ with forest-based polymers.

We offer certified renewable plastics based on tall oil which is a residue from paper production. The tall oil-based feedstock is sourced mainly from Nordic forests which enbles us to offer a carton based entirely on wood.

With the first cartons based on 100% renewable raw materials launched back in 2014, it has since continued to be a success with several large brand owners launching products in fully renewable cartons.

In 2020, more than 18% of fresh milk sales in Europe was in fully renewable cartons (working towards our goal of 50% by 2025).

Net Zero

  • Elopak has worked systematically to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions since 2008, and we have reported on our progress every year.
  • Since 2016, we have been a carbon neutral company, offering carbon neutral packaging to our customers.
  • In 2019 we formally pledged to cut greenhouse gas emissions with the goal to keep global warming below 1.5°C, in line with the criteria set by Science Based Targets initiative.

Click here to read the full chapter

Carbon neutral

Elopak has been a carbon neutral company since 2016. Through carbon neutrality, we compensate for all emissions from our own manufacturing processes, our transport and our business travels. By expanding the scope, we can offer carbon neutral packaging to our customers. We were the first to offer CarbonNeutral® Packaging for beverages and liquid foods.

Elopak supports projects outside of the value chain, that can provide third-party verified carbon emission reduction credits. In doing so, we are contributing not only to reduced emissions but also facilitating positive effects on local livelihoods and the environment.

Building the road to 2030 with Science Based Targets

Elopak has pledged to cut greenhouse gas emissions in line with the strictest criteria set by the Science Based Target Initiative (SBT), and has by that committed to keep global warming below 1.5°C.

Recycling & recycled content

  • Made of materials ready for countless new applications, our Pure-Pak® cartons live on after use. We are working to increase the possibilities for recycling the plastic and aluminum mix.
  • Elopak is an active member of dedicated beverage carton associations in many countries, and a founding member of EXTR:ACT, an organisation dedicated to increasing the collection of recycling of beverage cartons in Europe.
  • The beverage carton industry in Europe has set a joint target of 70% recycling by 2030.

Click here to read the full chapter

Recycling

Our cartons contain fibres of very high quality that can be recycled up to seven times. The challenge is to continue to make national collection and recycling facilities more widely available and easily accessible, so more people can recycle. Therefore, Elopak works together with industry peers to increase and strengthen the collection and recycling of cartons across our markets.

Recycled (percent)

Recycled content – further supporting circular economy

One of the key topics raised by stakeholders these days is circular economy. No doubt there is a push in the market to replace virgin materials with recycled ones in an attempt to move from the linear “take-make-dispose” culture to the infinitely circular society where no new materials are needed.

Elopak will look into introducing recycled content in our cartons provided food safety regulations and technical feasibility allow. The goal is to start by focusing on introducing recycled content in the barrier layers.

Links / Downloads

Sustainability

Gut gewappnet für 2030

2020 wird uns als sehr besonderes Jahr in Erinnerung bleiben. Mit ungewöhnlichen Herausforderungen und neuen Zielsetzungen. Für Elopak hat sich eine Sache aber nicht verändert: Unser Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit bleibt bestehen. Mehr noch: Er wurde sogar weiter geschärft und im gesamten Unternehmen verankert.

Nachhaltiges Handeln prägt den Charakter von Elopak. Auch unsere Produkte spiegeln das wider. Immer wieder stellen sie unter Beweis, dass sie die umweltfreundlichsten Verpackungen am Markt sind. Unser aktueller Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 gibt Ihnen ein Update über unsere Fortschritte und unsere Ziele mit Blick auf Ökonomie, Ökologie und Soziales.


Nachhaltigkeit:

So arbeiten wir:

Als weltweit tätiges Unternehmen hat sich Elopak dazu verpflichtet, systematisch alle Aspekte von Nachhaltigkeit zu bearbeiten – angefangen beim Wohlergehen unserer Mitarbeiter, über eine verantwortungsvolle Rohstoffgewinnung und Initiativen zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels, bis hin zu einer gewissenhaften Unternehmensführung mit höchsten ethischen Standards in all unseren Geschäftstätigkeiten.

Nachhaltig zu sein bedeutet, die Balance zu finden zwischen dem, was gut für die Menschen, für die Umwelt und den Profit ist.

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsziele:

  • Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsziele bleiben im Vergleich zum Vorjahr unverändert. Sie sind der Garant für unser langfristiges Engagement bei wichtigen globalen Herausforderungen wie Klimawandel, knappen natürlichen Ressourcen, Diversität, Sicherheit und Verantwortung entlang der Lieferketten.

1

Elopak offers a top-quartile motivating workplace by 2025

2

85% of employees have individual targets and documented competence development plans

3

Target the same distribution in gender diversity across all hierarchical levels

„2020 markiert den Beginn der Klimadekade. Ein entscheidendes Jahrzehnt, um den globalen Temperaturanstieg zu bremsen. Dies ist der Zeitpunkt, um nicht mehr nur weniger Schaden anzurichten, sondern um mehr Gutes zu tun. Elopak strebt bei den Emissionen Netto-Null an – als natürliche Fortsetzung unseres klimaneutralen Ansatzes. Genau darum muss es jetzt gehen.“

Marianne Groven, Director Sustainability

Erneuerbarkeit

  • Indem wir in unserem gesamten Betriebsablauf auf Erneuerbarkeit achten, können wir zu einer ausgewogeneren und nachhaltigeren Zukunft beitragen.
  • Erneuerbare Rohstoffe wachsen auf natürliche Weise nach und sichern so die Ressourcenverfügbarkeit für zukünftige Generationen.
  • Darüber hinaus führen diese Rohstoffe zu deutlich geringeren Treibhausgasemissionen im Vergleich zu fossilen oder anderen endlichen Ressourcen.

Klicken Sie hier, um das gesamte Kapitel zu lesen

Von Natur aus erneuerbar: Für den Erhalt lebendiger und gesunder Wälder

Seit sich Elopak 2010 die Zertifizierung gesichert hat, ist der jährliche Absatz von FSC-zertifizierten Kartons kontinuierlich gestiegen. Im Jahr 2020 stammten 100 Prozent des Verkaufsvolumens von Elopak aus verifizierten und kontrollierten Quellen, von denen 54 Prozent FSC-zertifiziert waren (in Europa waren es 74 Prozent des Verkaufsvolumens).

FSC-zertifizierte Kartons

Frei von fossilen Rohstoffen – mit zertifizierten erneuerbaren Polymeren

Wir bei Elopak arbeiten daran, den Kunststoffanteil in Kartons zu reduzieren. Und unsere Kunden können schon jetzt mit holzbasierten Polymeren „fossil-frei“ werden. Wir bieten zertifizierte erneuerbare Kunststoffe auf Basis von Tallöl an, einem Rückstand der Papierherstellung. Die Rohstoffe dafür stammen hauptsächlich aus nordischen Wäldern. Damit können wir einen Karton anbieten, der vollständig auf Holz basiert.

Bereits 2014 wurden die ersten Kartons aus 100 Prozent erneuerbaren Rohstoffen eingeführt. Seitdem hat sich ihr Siegeszug fortgesetzt, denn mehrere große Markenhersteller haben Produkte in vollständig erneuerbaren Kartons auf den Markt gebracht.

Im Jahr 2020 wurden mehr als 18 Prozent aller Frischmilchprodukte in Europa in vollständig erneuerbaren Kartons verkauft (wir arbeiten auf unser Ziel von 50 Prozent bis 2025 hin).

Netto-Null

  • Elopak arbeitet seit 2008 systematisch daran, eigene Treibhausgasemissionen zu reduzieren. Jedes Jahr berichten wir über unsere Fortschritte.
  • Seit 2016 sind wir ein klimaneutrales Unternehmen und bieten unseren Kunden klimaneutrale Verpackungen an.
  • In Übereinstimmung mit den Kriterien der Science Based Targets (SBT) Initiative haben wir uns 2019 formell dazu verpflichtet, unsere Treibhausgasemissionen mit dem Ziel zu reduzieren, die globale Erwärmung unter 1,5 Grad Celsius zu halten.

Klicken Sie hier, um das gesamte Kapitel zu lesen

Klimaneutralität

Elopak ist seit 2016 ein klimaneutrales Unternehmen. Wir erreichen Klimaneutralität, indem wir alle Emissionen aus unseren eigenen Herstellungsprozessen, unserem Transport und unseren Geschäftsreisen kompensieren. Durch die Erweiterung dieses Ansatzes können wir unseren Kunden klimaneutrale Verpackungen anbieten. Tatsächlich waren wir die ersten, die klimaneutrale Verpackungen für Getränke und flüssige Lebensmittel angeboten haben.

Elopak unterstützt emissionssenkende Projekte außerhalb der Wertschöpfungskette, die von Dritten verifiziert und zertifiziert sind. Auf diese Weise tragen wir nicht nur zur Reduzierung von Emissionen bei, sondern helfen auch den Lebensstandard und den Umweltschutz vor Ort zu verbessern.

Science Based Targets: gut gewappnet für 2030

Elopak hat sich verpflichtet, die Treibhausgasemissionen nach den strengen Kriterien der Science Based Targets Initiative zu reduzieren und damit die globale Erwärmung unter 1,5 Grad Celsius zu halten.

Recycling und Recyclinganteil

  • Hergestellt aus Materialien, die sich für unzä0hlige neue Anwendungen eignen, leben unsere Pure-Pak®-Kartons nach dem Gebrauch weiter. Wir arbeiten daran, die Wiederverwendungsmöglichkeiten für den Kunststoff-Aluminium-Mix zu erhöhen.
  • Elopak ist in vielen Ländern aktives Mitglied engagierter Getränkekartonverbände. Zudem sind wir Gründungsmitglied von EXTR:ACT, einer Organisation, die sich in Europa für die Verbesserung von Sammlung und Recycling gebrauchter Getränkekartons einsetzt.
  • Die europäische Getränkekartonindustrie hat sich eine Recyclingquote von 70 Prozent als gemeinsames Ziel bis 2030 gesetzt.

Klicken Sie hier, um das gesamte Kapitel zu lesen

Recycling

Unsere Kartons enthalten hochwertige Fasern, die bis zu sieben Mal recycelt werden können. Wir stehen vor der Herausforderung, weltweit gut funktionierende Sammel- und Recyclingsysteme zu etablieren, um damit noch mehr Menschen den Zugang zum Recycling zu ermöglichen. Deshalb arbeitet Elopak mit Industriepartnern zusammen, um die Sammlung und das Recycling von Kartons in unseren Märkten zu erhöhen und zu stärken.

Recycelt (Prozent)

Einsatz von Rezyklat – ein weiterer Schritt in Richtung Kreislaufwirtschaft

Die Kreislaufwirtschaft ist für viele Stakeholder eines der aktuell wichtigsten Themen. Es gibt einen spürbaren Impuls am Markt, neue Materialien durch recycelte zu ersetzen. Dahinter steht der Wunsch, von der Kultur des linearen „Nehmen-Herstellen-Entsorgen“ zu einer unendlichen Kreislaufgesellschaft zu gelangen, in der keine neuen Materialien mehr benötigt werden.

Wir bei Elopak werden uns mit der Nutzung von Recyclingmaterial in unseren Kartons befassen, sofern die Vorschriften zur Lebensmittelsicherheit und die technische Machbarkeit dies zulassen. In einem ersten Schritt wollen wir uns auf die Einführung von Recyclingmaterial in den Barriereschichten konzentrieren.

Links / Downloads